McLobster is Back!

mclobster sign

Having lived in New England my entire life, I have had more than my fair share of lobster rolls. I have also gotten into a few heated arguments about whether lobster rolls are best prepared with warm lobster meat soaked in butter or as more of a lobster salad, meaning with mayonnaise and diced celery or scallions. In my opinion, if you’re going to get a lobster roll, do yourself a favor and go traditional: warm lobster meat soaked in butter on a hot dog bun. Unfortunately, McDonald’s never asked for my opinion when they rolled out the McLobster in 1993 and they opted for the latter. Now over 20 years later and with a 10 year hiatus in many areas, McDonald’s throughout New England have announced the return of the McLobster!

The McLobster is made of “100% real North Atlantic Lobster and mayonnaise dressing layered on a bed of crisp leaf and shredded lettuce, served on a homestyle, toasted roll.” Available for a limited time, the lobster rolls are being sold for $7.99 (though, as always, prices may vary). But hey, it still beats shelling out $10.99 at D’Angelo.

A surprisingly attractive lobster roll!

A surprisingly attractive lobster roll!

As someone who is always interested in the fast food cult classics, I made my way to McDonald’s to get my first taste of the McLobster. Setting aside my lobster roll bias, I went into my meal with not only an open mouth, but an open mind as well. The first thing I noticed when I opened my sandwich box was a huge piece of claw meat sitting right atop the sandwich. I was pleasantly surprised to see quite a bit of lobster meat in the roll, and even more pleased to see that they had been conservative with mayonnaise (there is nothing worse than the overwhelming taste of mayonnaise!). With a basic list of ingredients the key to this sandwich is letting the lobster take center stage, and McDonald’s did just that. The lobster was meaty and the lettuce was crisp, as advertised. The sandwich is also an attractive alternative for someone looking to shave a few calories or some fat from their regular McDonald’s order. The McLobster clocks in at 290 calories and 6 grams of fat, to go along with the 24 grams of protein. For comparison, the Big Mac also has 24 grams of protein, but that is accompanied by 530 calories and 27 grams of fat!

Overall, I actually enjoyed the McLobster. Don’t get carried away with that statement though, because it doesn’t hold a candle to a traditional New England lobster roll. However, considering that it came from McDonald’s, and cost about half the price of a “real” lobster roll, I couldn’t complain. The ingredients seemed fresh, it was a decent size, and most importantly…it actually tasted like lobster!

