Fast Food Review: Wendy’s BBQ Pulled Pork Cheese Fries

Wendy's

Wendy’s creativity has always puzzled me a bit. On one hand, they constantly put out delicious and unique burgers, including the irresistible Pretzel Bacon Cheeseburger. On the other hand, they are the company that sold french fries and chili separately for years before finally putting chili cheese fries on their menu somewhat recently (duh!). Their new menu introduction of BBQ Pulled Pork seem to fall on both ends of that same scale; a genius no brainer. They kept things very simple with their new BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich, and then they raised the bar with the BBQ Pulled Pork Cheeseburger and BBQ Pulled Pork Cheese Fries.

As soon as I saw the first pulled pork commercial, I jumped in my car and headed to the closest Wendy’s. I am a HUGE fan of pulled pork, and the fact that they were now on Wendy’s French Fries gave me all the motivation I needed to get off the couch. When I got to Wendy’s, I was intrigued by the fact that they were offering three different kinds of barbecue sauce: Sweet, Smoky, and Spicy. Anyone even remotely familiar with barbecue sauces knows that people are always debating which of these flavor profiles is best. Wendy’s eliminates the debate, or maybe stokes it even more, by offering their customers all three.

image1

My Deliciously Messy Meal!

The BBQ Pulled Pork Cheese Fries cost me $2.99, which was a fair price amount of food I got. The amount of fries was a little less than a medium order, and they were topped with cheddar cheese sauce, pulled pork, diced red onions, and the Smoky barbecue sauce I requested. From the first bite to the last, I thoroughly enjoyed these fries! The cheese and barbecue sauces blended extremely well, and they covered the fries and pork without making the dish soggy. The addition of the pulled pork to the fries makes this side item hearty, and almost makes it feel like a small main course. I was honestly hesitant about the red onions at first, but they provided a good bite to the dish and kept the meal from being too sweet. Mixing up your fries a little will give you consistently flavorful bites throughout your dish. It also allows each of the ingredients to shine in the way they were intended.

Overall, I give Wendy’s BBQ Pulled Pork Fries two cheese and barbecue-covered thumbs up! They don’t quite make a full meal though. You are probably going to want to throw some chicken nuggets or a Jr. Bacon Cheeseburger into the mix (never a bad idea anyways!). I’m not sure I would have been able to walk out of the restaurant if I added the Pulled Pork Sandwich or Cheeseburger to my meal, so I will be saving those for another day.

The Full BBQ Trio

The Full BBQ Trio

All these new items are on the menu until early November. Do yourself a favor and work a few trips to Wendy’s into your plans this month and give all three a shot. I know I will!

