TV Midseason Recap

Successes

Sleepy Hollow (FOX)

I knew that  I would enjoy Sleepy Hollow, but I never thought it would become this season’s break out show. With an incredible cast and dynamic plots Sleepy Hollow  has found a great balance of drama and sci-fi with a hint of comedy. Only a 13 episodes long season one will wrap up in a couple weeks. But don’t worry the show has already been picked up for a second season. The worst part of that is that we will have to wait.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine (FOX)

Reminiscent of The Office, Brooklyn Nine-Nine has taken a hilarious cast paired with a great script and made me laugh each week. Andy Samberg leads the show with a supporting cast you just can’t help but love. As long as they keep the cases light and the cops… well… not actually working the show will be in good shape.

The Crazy Ones (CBS)

Robin Williams leads one of the best casts on television in this workplace comedy. The backdrop of working in an ad agency is perfect for a comedy and the show capitalizes on it. They make it look like they are all a family and they make me want to work at their firm, if only.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

Despite so far being a let down, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has a ton potential. The Marvel Universe full of great storylines to pick from. You would think this show would be easy to make great. However, the lack of backstories for the characters and the stories they have chosen to produce have been its biggest downfall. Hopefully  the second half of the season the show will alleviate viewer’s concerns and figure out what it is the show can do well. I’ve heard that they are going to introduce some new characters, which can shake up the dynamic. The basis for it is fantastic. Now they need to capitalize on it. Even if that means bring back Whedon.

The Goldbergs (ABC)

A hilarious family comedy and the 80s environment is perfection. The cast is great and they play well off of each other. I think my favorite part of the show is before the credits where we see Adam Goldberg’s actual home videos that the episodes reference. It shows the pride that he has in the show while also poking fun at his family. Now granted it is no Modern Family, but it makes me laugh and I love the throwback that it offers contemporary television.

Blacklist (NBC)

I haven’t actually watched this show yet, but bear with me. Before you ask why the heck am I including it, I’ll explain. It is my number one show to catch up on. Every week when I’m watching NBC and I see a preview for it I get chills from excitement. So I’ll let you know if I change my mind after watching it, but I don’t think I will.

Shows That Need Some Work

Dads (FOX)

This is a good show. The two guys interacting with their father is quite hilarious. Only issue is that the plots are boring. They spend an entire episode dealing with bed bugs. Not good. The cast balances each other well and the premise is solid. Unfortunately FOX seems to have given up on Dads a bit. After a premature full season order, FOX is now rearranging their schedule and moving Dads in a hope counter the now low ratings. Hopefully the second half of the season will turn around.

Super Fun Night (ABC)

In a show that I was expecting to fail had one of the best starts to a season I have seen in a long time. The first three episodes were hilarious, relevant and creative. But that didn’t last long. The show turned into less of a quirky group of friends experiencing new things to a group of friends just living their everyday lives. What was great early on was seeing these socially inept girls trying to interact with the rest of the world. I hope they return to that because that was a great premise for the show.

Cancelled

All these shows were lost already this season, no surprise there. But we mourn them anyways and hope some of these great actors find better shows next season. (cough cough Tony Shaloub and Blair Underwood)



We Are Men (CBS)

Lucky 7 (ABC)

Back In the Game (ABC)

Ironside (NBC)

Welcome to the Family (NBC)

