Fast Food Feature: Taco Bell’s Smothered Burrito

Most people won’t admit that they eat, or even like, fast food. Yet the fast food restaurants in the United States make up a $165+ BILLION industry…so some people are clearly sneaking some fries from the drive-thru. Almost everyone that knows me is all too familiar with my fast food “addiction”. These are the same people that flood me with text messages and Facebook posts when the McRib comes back (Thank you, by the way). I’m about as skilled in the kitchen as an infant with a chainsaw, so I’ve relied on fast food chains to feed me without causing me to go bankrupt. Who else is going to give me a bacon cheeseburger for 99 cents?!? During my darkest days of eating I was greeted by name at the drive thru of my local McDonald’s and asked if I would like the #10 (my usual order). I said, “Yes, of course!” but that didn’t make this event any less sobering. I took a break after that and started packing a lunch for a while.

But like Monopoly at McDonald’s, I’M BACK! I’ve popped a few Lipitor, loosened my belt a couple of notches and I’m ready to eat! This blog isn’t meant to glorify gluttony, or to convince people to eat more fast food (we are clearly doing enough of that already). I’m simply giving people a look at some of the newest items on the market and maybe throwing in a few comparison pieces of fan favorites.

There is no better place to start this new feature off than a trip to my favorite fast food joint…Taco Bell! Taco Bell has not been shy about focusing all their marketing at their key demographic, teens and young adults. Their “Fourth Meal” ads are really just their way of saying, “I know you are driving home from the bar and only have $3 in your pocket…want a burrito?” Nobody adjusts their menus quite as much as Taco Bell. Each month they bring back an old favorite (Cheesy Gordita Crunch anyone?) or roll out a new item. With that being said, the first item on my fast food bucket list is the new Smothered Burrito!

The Smothered Burrito comes loaded with beef (or shredded chicken or steak), rice, beans, and a chipotle sauce. The burrito is then covered in melted cheese, reduced-fat sour cream (to keep the burrito at a manageable 28g fat!), and what Taco Bell calls a “red sauce”. My first look at the burrito had me impressed at the size. It was a hearty burrito that can easily be eaten for a meal; not exactly something you pick up for a mid-afternoon snack (you are asking for trouble with snacks like that). My only complaint with this item was that the sauces tended to overpower the burrito. The “red sauce” that Taco Bell has neglected to identify is very salty and takes over the meal (2230mg of sodium for the curious/health conscious reader). Eating the burrito without that sauce cuts the saltiness down, but leaves you with a pretty basic Taco Bell burrito. I’m going to chalk this one up as a just-miss by Taco Bell, but that doesn’t mean I’m not looking forward to next month’s venture!

Reality vs. Above Advertisement

Reality vs. Above Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

Item Serving Size (g) Calories Calories from Fat (g) Saturated Fat (g) Total Fat (g) Trans Fat (g) Cholesterol (mg) Sodium (mg) Carbohydrates (g) Dietary Fiber (g) Sugars (g) Protein (g)
Smothered Burrito – Shredded Chicken
387
655
253
10
28
0
72
2226
67
8
4
34

ALLERGENS*: Gluten, Milk, Soybean, Egg, Wheat

